IUCr Congress 2023

2023 IUCr Congress: Sessions Relevant to Magnetic Structure

The 2023 IUCr Congress in Melbourne (Aug 22-29, 2023) will be an exciting event for all researchers involved in the determination and application of high-quality magnetic-structures.  Abstracts are due by 21 February 2023.  We encourage you to make participation in this triennial meeting a high priority! The congress program will include many sessions focused on or relevant to the structures and properties of magnetic materials, as listed below, where those sponsored/co-sponsored by the IUCr Commission on Magnetic Structures (CMS) are marked with an asterisk. Visit https://iucr2023.org for more information.

Topological textures in frustrated magnetic materials*
Keynote address by Oksana Zaharko (PSI, Switzerland)

Magnetic symmetry and its applications (#53)*
Chairs: Fran├žoise Damay, Ovidiu Garlea
Invited speakers: Branton Campbell, Atsuchi Togo

Methods for the determination/analysis of magnetic structures for powders and single crystals (#54)*
Chairs: Clarina Dela Cruz, Dmitry Khalyavin
Invited speakers: Rebecca Dally, Roger Johnson

Diffuse scattering analysis of  short range crystal and magnetic order (#55)*
Chairs: Alannah Hallas, Joe Paddison
Invited speakers: Benjamin Frandsen, Pascal Manuel

Magnetic order in aperiodic systems (#56)*
Chairs: Margarida Henriques, Ryuji Tamura
Invited speakers: TBA

Crystal and magnetic structures of novel perovskites (#57)*
Chairs: A. Sundaresan, Fabio Denis Romero
Invited speakers: Patrick Woodward

New phenomena and applications in molecular magnets (#58)*
Chairs: Richard Mole, Annie Powell
Invited speakers: TBA

Van der Waals magnetism in powders and single crystals (#59)*
Chairs: Je-Geun Park, Michael Shatruk
Invited speakers: Eugenio Coronado, Andrew Wildes

In memoriam of Igor Dzyaloshinskii and Sergey V. Maleyev: Antisymmetric Exchange, Magnetic Chirality, from Helimagnets to Topological Spin Textures (#60)*
Chairs: Manuel Perez-Mato
Invited speakers: Jun-ichiro Kishine, Vladimir Pomjakushin

Magnetism in topological materials (#61)*
Chairs: Luis Elcoro, Anna Sokolova
Invited speakers: Zhida Song

Geometrically-frustrated magnetism (#62)*
Chairs: Oksana Zaharko, Ben Frandsen
Invited speakers: Joe Paddison, Kirrily Rule

Teaching crystallographic symmetry for Materials Science (#27)*
Chairs: John Claridge, Inbal Tuvi-Arad
Invited speakers: TBA

Methods for the determination/analysis of magnetic structures for powders and single crystals (#54)*
Chairs: Arsen Goukassov, William Ratcliff
Invited speakers: TBA

Imaging of nanoscale magnetic order near interfaces and other defects (#37)*
Chairs: Claire Donnelly
Invited speakers: TBA

Quantum crystallography challenges and opportunities for magnetic materials (#83)
Chairs: Nicolas Claiser, Yoshiharu Sakurai
Invited speakers: TBA

Functionality from broken inversion symmetry (#48)
Chairs: Emma McCabe, Anthony Phillips
Invited speakers: TBA

Polarized neutrons – future directions (#71)
Chairs: Grace Causer, Andrew Wildes
Invited speakers: Ken Anderson, Fran├žoise Damay

Using high-pressure diffraction to design and understand functionality (#45)
Chairs: Andrew Cairns, Bianca Haberl
Invited speakers: TBA

IUCr Commission on Magnetic Structures © 2014 Frontier Theme